The Hugo Awards

1939 Retro Hugo Award Winners

Loncon 3 is delighted to announce the 1939 Retro Hugo Award winners. 1,307 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot. A PDF is available with the full statistics for the nominating and final ballots.

Best Novel: The Sword in the Stone by T. H. White (Collins)

Best Novella: “Who Goes There?” by Don A Stuart [John W. Campbell] (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1938)

Best Novelette: “Rule 18” by Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science-Fiction, July 1938)

Best Short Story: “How We Went to Mars” by Arthur C. Clarke (Amateur Science Stories, March 1938)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells. Written by Howard Koch & Anne Froelick, directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater on the Air, CBS)

Best Editor - Short Form: John W. Campbell

Best Professional Artist: Virgil Finlay

Best Fanzine: Imagination! edited by Forrest J Ackerman, Morojo, and T. Bruce Yerke

Best Fan Writer: Ray Bradbury

The 1939 Retro Hugo Award winners were announced at a ceremony held at Loncon 3 on Thursday evening, 14 August 2014 in London. The ceremony was hosted by Mary Robinette Kowal and Rob Shearman and broadcast live via Ustream.

The full list of finalists is here.